Leagues March, 14th 2011 by IHW

Mission Axiom wins MLRH

What a day of hockey at the 949 Roller hockey center…

The Mission Axiom finished a perfect season as they defeated the LA Pama Cyclones in two straight games to win the 2010 – 2011 MLRH championship.

The crowds which filled the building, electrified the game and both teams with their “Let’s go Pama” and “Let’s go Mission” chants during stoppages. Fans were treated to a series that either team could win
Game one in the series of two of the top teams in the nation had Mission skate out to a 1 – 0 lead on a giveaway pass by Gerry Osterkamp. Chris Connole walked in the high slot and beat Troy Redmann for the first goal of the game just 00:18 seconds in. Juaquin Chavira would answer back twelve minutes later to deadlock the game at one apiece. Pama would take a 2 – 1 lead in the second half on a goal by Itano Chavira, who was mid air, somehow snapped off the puck and beat Mike Urbano short side. After that goal, it was all Mission as Josh Larrichia would score two breakaway goals and add two assists to propel the Axiom to a game one victory 5 – 2.

Game two would pull all the stops out as Mission would once again take the game lead with their first goal of the game as Tommy Tyler would score a nice goal off of Josh Larrichia’s cross rink feed. Pama would battle back as Itan Chavira would beat Urbano glove side high under the cross bar with just 00:43 seconds left in the first half.

As they second half began, Pama would draw first blood as Itano would score again after being rattled into the boards by Chris Connole. Gerry Osterkamp would then score two goals, both of highlight reel capacity to give Pama a 4 – 1 lead. Mission would then strike back with two goals in 00:52 seconds as Josh Larrichia would again strike deadly as he buried two loose pucks to make the game 4 – 3. Osterkamp then completed the natural hat trick as he ripped a snap shot over Urbano’s blocker to put Pama up by two goals with 3:33 to play. Only seven seconds later, Chris Connole would power his way to the net and make the game 5 – 4 with 3:26 to play.

With 1:50 to play, referee Aaron Evans made a questionable interference call, which had Amen Kler off to the penalty box. This was the third penalty called on Pama in the game. Game one had Mission serve two penalties to Pama’s none. Kler’s penalty would prove deadly as with only 00:09 seconds left, Raf Rodrigues would score five hole on Troy Redmann with Mike Urbano pulled and Mission with a 5 – 3 advantage. With Pama upset over the call, we ended regulation with a 5 – 5 deadlock.

Overtime would see Mike Urbano come up huge as Itano Chavira set up Gerry Osterkamp for his fourth goal of the game, or so we thought as Urbano got a pad on stopping the sure goal. With 00:18 seconds left in OT, Raf Rodriguez would backhand the puck over a sprawled Redmann after Josh Larrichia set him up perfectly. Larrichia drew two defensemen to him and gave Rodriguez the puck.

Congratulations to the 2010 – 2011 MLRH PRO Champions, the MISSION AXIOM who will share the $10, 000 PRIZE!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>